Tao of Management Verse One

I’m a philosophical Taoist in that I’ve studied the ancient texts and find much there to apply to my own life. I’ve had a much harder time applying it to my work life than my personal life. I’ve always struggled with bringing together the structure of management and the way of Tao.

I’m seeking two books on the subject, the Tao of Leadership by John Heider and The Tao of Personal Leadership by Diane Dreher and until I find them, and inspired by The Rambling Taoist’s Tao/Bible project, I think I’ll just take a crack at it here one verse at a time.

I’m without my favorite translation tonight, so pardon this one for the time being.

Verse 1

The Way that can be experienced is not true;
The world that can be constructed is not true.
The Way manifests all that happens and may happen;
The world represents all that exists and may exist.

To experience without intention is to sense the world;
To experience with intention is to anticipate the world.
These two experiences are indistinguishable;
Their construction differs but their effect is the same.

Beyond the gate of experience flows the Way,
Which is ever greater and more subtle than the world.

My interpretation

There is more to managing than working from your personal experience
There is more to managing than what you can read in books
There is a way to manage which is inherent in the way of the world
And is all around you, if you will look and learn.

Cast aside your preconceived notions
Just learn with the intent to receive knowledge
If you seek with your eyes you will not find
If you seek with your “self” you may perceive the truth

Leave a Reply

