Tao of Management: Verse 20

Verse Twenty

HAVE done with learning,
And you will have no more vexation.

How great is the difference between “eh” and “o”?
What is the distinction between “good” and “evil”?
Must I fear what others fear?
What abysmal nonsense this is!

All men are joyous and beaming,
As though feasting upon a sacrificial ox,
As though mounting the Spring Terrace;
I alone am placid and give no sign,
Like a babe which has not yet smiled.
I alone am forlorn as one who has no home to retum to.

All men have enough and to spare:
I alone appear to possess nothing.
What a fool I am!
What a muddled mind I have!
All men are bright, bright:
I alone am dim, dim.
All men are sharp, sharp:
I alone am mum, mum!
Bland like the ocean,
Aimless like the wafting gale.

All men settle down in their grooves:
I alone am stubborn and remain outside.
But wherein I am most different from others is
In knowing to take sustenance from my Mother!

My Version
Stop trying to learn everything
And you won’t be so frustrated.

What’s the difference in the end?
Must you think like everyone else?

Look at everybody else – happy and laughing,
While you are glum and serious – and sad and lonely.

Everyone else find their place in the world,
But if you want to, you must cast off all this “learning”
And follow the Tao.

Leave a Reply

